Historic Resources Advisory Committee

Historic Resources Advisory Committee

The Historic Resources Advisory Committee (HRAC) is a body of nine members of the community, appointed by the CBJ Assembly, which monitors the historic and cultural resources within the City and Borough of Juneau. The Committee was established in 1987 to meet the requirements of the Certified Local Government program established by the National Historic Preservation Act.

The HRAC is comprised of the following: archaeologists, historians, architects, people knowledgeable in the customs and language of the Tlingit and Haida People, owners of locally recognized historic property, people familiar with the operations and issues relating to the city museum, teachers, and the general public.

The duties of the HRAC are: to review and make recommendations about local projects that might affect properties identified in the local historic preservation plan; to review and develop nominations to the National Register of Historic Places; and to cooperate and consult with the Assembly, the Planning Commission, and the Alaska State Historic Preservation Officer on matters concerning historical districts and historic, prehistoric, and archaeological preservation.

For more information, please contact:

Forrest Courtney, Planner I

907-586-0753 ext. 4208

[email protected] 


The current members of the Historic Resources Advisory Committee are:

  • Zane Jones, Chair
  • Shannon Crossley, Vice-Chair
  • Eric Moots, Recorder
  • Gary Gillette
  • Dorene Lorenz
  • Chuck Smythe
  • Donald Harris
  • Jerrick Hope-Lang
  • Steve Winker

Staff Liaison:

  • Forrest Courtney, Planner I

Historic Preservation Program
Historic Sites & Structures Inventory

Historic Resources Advisory Committee Meetings

Current Agendas & Minutes

August 22, 2022 and newer

Click the button below to access the new Municode system
for the current minutes and agendas.


Agendas & Minutes Archive

Meetings Older than August 22, 2022

Click the button below to access
the previous system archive of minutes and agendas.