CBJ Stock Image

Seven apply for anticipated District 1 Assembly seat opening

January 4, 2019 – News

City and Borough of Juneau Assemblymember Jesse Kiehl was recently elected to the State Senate Seat for District Q and will be taking office January 15. In anticipation of his resignation from the District 1 Assembly seat, the Assembly solicited Letters of Interest and Declaration of Candidacy forms November 30, 2018 through close of business on January 2, 2019.

Seven individuals submitted Declaration of Candidacy forms: Eric Forst, Alicia Hughes-Skandijs, Christopher Peloso, Meilani Schijvens, Theresa Yvette Soutiere, Martin Stepetin Sr. and Kate Troll. Residents eligible for the District 1 seat must live in Downtown Juneau, Douglas, North Douglas, Lemon Creek or the Airport area. Read their Declaration of Candidacy forms and Letters of Interest here.

The Assembly Human Resources Committee will meet on Thursday, January 10 to interview each of the candidates and it is anticipated that the final decision will be announced and the new member sworn into office at a Special Assembly Meeting on Monday, January 14 following the anticipated resignation of current Assemblymember Kiehl that same evening.

Per the CBJ Code 11.10.040(a), the appointed candidate will serve “until the next regularly scheduled election” in October of 2019, at which time the District 1 seat will be placed on the municipal ballot for the remaining year of the term.

In addition to the requirement to file a Declaration of Candidacy form and Letter of Interest, the person appointed to the District 1 Assembly seat will be required to file an Alaska Public Offices Commission Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement within 30 days of taking office.

For more information, contact Municipal Clerk/Election Official Beth McEwen at 586-5278 or Beth.McEwen@juneau.org.