CBJ Stock Image

Canvass Review Board certifies CBJ’s 2021 Regular By-Mail Municipal Election

October 19, 2021 – News

The Municipal Clerk’s Offices announces the official certification of the October 5, 2021 CBJ Regular Municipal Election, which was held as a By-Mail Election in partnership with the Municipality of Anchorage. The Canvass Review Board began its work at 10 a.m. this morning and completed its review certifying the election results at approximately 5:30 p.m. See the final results here. More information regarding the details and statistics related to this By-Mail election will be provided in a follow-up report to the Assembly.

Juneau Assembly

With a total of 8,517 votes counted:

  • The Mayor’s race saw Beth Weldon receiving a total of 6,863 votes against 623 ineligible write-in votes.
  • For the Assembly District 1 race, Barbara Blake was elected having received 4,729 votes to Paul Kelly’s 2,066 votes and Troy Wuyts-Smith’s 859 votes with 230 ineligible write-in votes.
  • For the Assembly District 2 seat, Michelle Bonnet Hale was reelected having received 5,541 votes to Kelly Fishler’s 2,438 votes, with 64 ineligible write-ins.

Juneau School Board

For the three Board of Education (School Board) seats:

  • Incumbent Elizabeth (Ebett) Siddon was reelected with 5,781 votes
  • Amber Frommherz was elected having received 5,370 votes
  • Certified write-in candidate Will Muldoon won the third seat with 2,919 votes.
  • The remaining school board candidates not elected received the following votes in descending order: Aaron Spratt with 2,003 votes, Ibn Bailey with 1,740 votes, Thom Buzard with 1,583 votes, Wiljordon Sangster with 1,150 votes, and Kyle Scholl with 358 votes.

The returning and newly elected Board of Education (School Board) members are being sworn into office at a meeting tonight that started at 6 p.m.

Newly-elected Assembly member Barbara Blake and returning members to the Assembly will be sworn in during the Assembly Reorganization meeting on Monday, October 25 at 7 p.m.  At that same meeting, the Assembly will recognize outgoing Deputy Mayor Loren Jones who has concluded nine years of service in the District 1 seat on the Assembly.

A big thanks to all the candidates who put their names forward for consideration.

For more information, please contact the Municipal Clerk’s Office at 586-5278, or go to the CBJ Elections Webpage.