CBJ October 5, 2021 Regular Municipal Election Official Results Certified 10/19/2021

Canvass Review Board Certifies
CBJ’s 2021 Regular By-Mail Municipal Election

It is with great pleasure that we announce the official certification of the October 5, 2021 CBJ Regular Municipal Election which was held as a By-Mail Election in partnership with the Municipality of Anchorage. The Canvass Review Board began its work at 10:00a.m. this morning and completed its review certifying the election results at approximately 5:30p.m. The final results sheet is attached and is also available on the Municipal Clerk’s Elections webpage at https://juneau.org/clerk/elections. More information regarding the details and statistics related to this By-Mail election will be provided in a follow up report to the Assembly.

With a total of 8517 votes counted, the Mayor’s race saw Beth Weldon receiving a total of 6863 votes against 623 ineligible write-in votes. For the Assembly District 1 race, Barbara Blake was elected having received 4729 votes to Paul Kelly’s 2066 votes and Troy Wuyts-Smith’s 859 votes with 230 ineligible write-in votes. For the Assembly District 2 seat, Michelle Bonnet Hale was reelected having received 5541 votes to Kelly Fishler’s 2438 votes, with 64 ineligible write-ins.

For the three Board of Education (School Board) seats, incumbent Elizabeth (Ebett) Siddon was reelected with 5781 votes, Amber Frommherz was elected having received 5370 votes, and certified write-in candidate Will Muldoon won the third seat with 2919 votes. The remaining school board candidates not elected received the following votes in descending order: Aaron Spratt with 2003 votes, Ibn Bailey with 1740 votes, Thom Buzard with 1583 votes, Wiljordon Sangster with 1150 votes, and Kyle Scholl with 358 votes.

The returning and newly elected Board of Education (School Board) members are being sworn into office at a meeting to be held on tonight at 6:00p.m.

Newly-elected Assemblymember Barbara Blake and returning members to the Assembly will be sworn in during the Assembly Reorganization meeting on Monday, October 25 at 7:00p.m.  At that same meeting, the Assembly will recognize outgoing Deputy Mayor Loren Jones who has concluded nine years of service in the District 1 seat on the Assembly.

A big thanks to all the candidates who put their names forward for consideration!

For more information, please contact the Municipal Clerk’s Office at 586-5278.