Presented by: Assemblyman Aase

Introduced: 3/18/82

RESOLUTION OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA

Serial No. 840

A RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING THE COACHES, PLAYERS, AND MANAGER OF THE JUNEAU-DOUGLAS CRIMSON BEARS YOUNG MEN'S PREP BASKETBALL TEAM ON COMPILING THEIR REMARKABLE SEASON RECORD AND FOR WINNING THE 1982 STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.

WHEREAS, competitive high school basketball started in Juneau in 1914 and is the oldest interscholastic sport in the state, and

WHEREAS, the 1914 high school yearbook prophetically stated "basketball, though a new sport in Juneau, will no doubt succeed as it is just the game for the climatic conditions found in Juneau," and

WHEREAS, in 1932 the Juneau high school "Hilltoppers" were renamed the "Crimson Bears," and

WHEREAS, in 1956 the school systems of the then sister cities of Juneau and Douglas were consolidated and the high school became known as the "Juneau-Douglas Crimson Bears," and

WHEREAS, the Juneau-Douglas Crimson Bears young men's basketball team of 1982 compiled the enviable record of thirty wins versus a single loss, and

WHEREAS, on their way to that record the Juneau-Douglas Crimson Bears won the State Championship for the ninth time since such playoffs were established in 1949 thereby earning the distinction for the school of having won more state championships than any other school in the state, and

WHEREAS, among individual honors the state's daily newspaper sportswriters have named Coach James Hamey as Cocoach of the year; selected Ethan Billings and Lance Solberg as members of the All-State Alaska Boys Prep Basketball first team and named Craig Kahklen honorable mention; as well as having designated Ethan Billings as Most Valuable Player;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA:

- 1. That on behalf of a proud city the assembly congratulates the coaches, players, manager and others associated with the Juneau-Douglas Crimson Bears young men's prep basketball team on compiling their remarkable record and for winning the 1982 State Championship.
- 2. That copies of this resolution shall be provided to Superintendant of Schools, Donald MacKinnon on behalf of the school, as well as to Coach James Hamey, Assistant Coach George Houston, team member Seniors Ethan Billings, Brent Fagerstrom and Lance Solberg, team member Juniors Kevin Casperson, Eric Holst, Craig Kahklen, Ross Ogden, Scott Stewart and Ken Willard, team member Sophomores Marc Greeley and Matt Newhouse, and the Manager Junior Steve Potter.

ADOPTED this 18th day of March, 1982.

Attest:

- 2 -