Presented by: The Manager Introduced: 9/17/81 Drafted by: G.L.S.

RESOLUTION OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA

Serial No. 789

A RESOLUTION DESIGNATING THE TIME AND PLACE FOR COUNTING ACCEPTED CHALLENGED BALLOTS AND ABSENTEE BALLOTS CAST IN THE REGULAR ELECTION TO BE HELD ON OCTOBER 6, 1981, AND APPOINTING JUDGES IN THE CITY AND BOROUGH PRECINCTS FOR SAID ELECTION.

WHEREAS, CBJ 29.05.200 provides that accepted challenged ballots and absentee ballots shall be counted by the city and borough election official and two or more assistants appointed by him, and

WHEREAS, said section further provides that such counting shall be done prior to the convening of the canvass board at a time and place designated by the assembly by resolution and shall be accomplished in public in full view of any persons assembled, and

WHEREAS, a regular election is to be held on October 6, 1981, and

WHEREAS, judges for precincts must be appointed;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA:

1. That the accepted challenged ballots and the absentee ballots cast, but not previously counted, in the regular election to be held on October 6, 1981, shall be counted as provided by ordinance by the city and borough election official in the Municipal Building, 155 South Seward Street, in the Assembly Chambers, commencing at 1:00 p.m. on October 13, 1981.

2. That absentee ballots received in such election prior to the close of the polls shall be counted as provided by ordinance by the City and Borough Election Official in Room 131 of the Municipal Building, 155 South Seward Street, commencing at the time the polls close.

3. That the following listed persons are appointed judges in the precincts as listed to constitute the election board in each of such precincts:

AUKE BAY PRECINCT

- 1. Kathryn Hagmeier
- 2. Jane Dehart
- 3. Betty Olson

DOUGLAS PRECINCT NO. 1

- 1. Peggy Mulligan
- 2. Ella Cashen
- 3. Ester Olson

DOUGLAS PRECINCT NO. 2

- 1. Sheila Peterson
- 2. Margaret Murray
- 3. Margaret Bodine

JUNEAU PRECINCT NO. 1

Evelyn Striegel
 Eleanor Nickell

JUNEAU PRECINCT NO. 2

- 1. Jeanette Mikesell
- 2. Eva Ropella
- 3. Sigrid Dull

JUNEAU PRECINCT NO. 3

- 1. Ruth Sherren
- 2. Eunice Logan
- 3. Corrine Kenway

JUNEAU PRECINCT NO. 4

- 1. Irene Clough
- 2. Janette McIlroy

JUNEAU PRECINCT NO. 5

- 1. Jean Talkington
- 2. Roseolive Druxman
- 3. Gudrum Olson

JUNEAU PRECINCT NO. 6

- 1. Margaret Fritsch
- 2. Elizabeth Greene
 - 3. Mary Long

JUNEAU PRECINCT NO. 7

- 1. Barbara Cooper
- 2. Geraldine Whiting
- 3. Nancy Shanley

JUNEAU PRECINCT NO. 9

- 1. Carolyn Burg
- 2. Marie Kent
- 3. Maria Gildersleeve

JUNEAU AIRPORT PRECINCT

- 1. Jackie Richardson
- 2. Patricia Trivette
- 3. Fran Patrick

LEMON CREEK PRECINCT

Janet League
 Janet League

LOWER MENDENHALL PRECINCT NO. 1

June Marks
 Anita Barnes

LOWER MENDENHALL PRECINCT NO. 2

- 1. Nancy Lange
- 2. Gwen Stetson
- 3. Joan Gasdarek

LYNN CANAL PRECINCT

- 1. Barbara Rice
- 2. Elizabeth Kelly
- 3. Mae Gray

NORTH DOUGLAS PRECINCT

- 1. Artie Marshall
- 2. Marcella Stutte
- 3. Linda Miller

SALMON CREEK PRECINCT

- 1. Gloria Ahrensfeld
- 2. Lenore Honsiger
- 3. Jean Harlow

SHEEP CREEK PRECINCT

- 1. Clara Sperl
- 2. Augusta Byington
- 3. Margo Lewis

SWITZER CREEK PRECINCT

- 1. Emily Cherry
- 2. Mary Lou King
- 3. Mary T. Hall

UPPER MENDENHALL PRECINCT NO. 1

- 1. Joanne Miller
- Betty Hallum
 Hazel Burwick

UPPER MENDENHALL PRECINCT NO. 2

- Carole Winton 1.
- 2. Bernice Williams

4. Should any of the persons listed be unable or unwilling to serve for any reason, the city and borough election official is hereby authorized to appoint other persons to fill the vacancies.

5. The city and borough election official is authorized to appoint such persons as, in his opinion, are legally qualified and willing to serve to fill each of the positions listed above to which no appointment is made by this resolution.

ADOPTED this 17th day of September, 1981.

Mayor

Attest:

Adas Clerk