Presented by: Introduced:

The Manager 3/20/80

Drafted by:

G.L.S.

RESOLUTION OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA

Serial No. 639

A RESOLUTION DESIGNATING THE TIME AND PLACE FOR COUNTING ACCEPTED CHALLENGED BALLOTS AND ABSENTEE BALLOTS CAST IN THE SPECIAL ELECTION TO BE HELD ON MARCH 28, 1980, AND APPOINTING JUDGES IN THE CITY AND BOROUGH PRECINCTS FOR SAID ELECTION.

WHEREAS, CBJ 29.05.200 provides that accepted challenged ballots and absentee ballots shall be counted by the city and borough election official and two or more assistants appointed by him, and

WHEREAS, said section further provides that such counting shall be done prior to the convening of the canvass board at a time and place designated by the assembly by resolution and shall be accomplished in public in full view of any persons assembled, and

WHEREAS, a special election is to be held on March 28, 1980, and

WHEREAS, judges for precincts must be appointed;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA:

- 1. That the accepted challenged ballots and the absentee ballots cast, but not previously counted, in the special election to be held on March 28, 1980, shall be counted as provided by ordinance by the city and borough election official at the assembly chambers in the Municipal Building, 155 South Seward Street, commencing at 1:00 p.m. on April 1, 1980.
- 2. That absentee ballots received in such election prior to the close of the polls shall be counted as provided by ordinance by the city and borough election official at the assembly chambers in the Municipal Building, 155 South Seward Street, commencing at the time the polls close.

3. That the following listed persons are appointed judges in the precincts as listed to constitute the election board in each of such precincts:

Auke Bay Precinct

- 1. Kathryn Haqmeier
- 2. Jane DeHart
- 3. Rosemary Quast

Douglas Precinct No. 1

- 1. Edla H. Cashen
- 2. Nell Savikko
- 3. Margaret Bodine

Douglas Precinct No. 2

- 1. Shirley Carlson
- 2. Sheila Peterson
- 3. Margaret Murray

Juneau Precinct No. 1

- I. Lauraine Gerhard
- 2. Evelyn Striegel
- 3. Eleanor Nickell

Juneau Precinct No. 2

- 1. Jeanette Mikesell
- 2. Sigrid Dull
- Rita Thomas

Juneau Precinct No. 3

- Vivian Lovaas
 Zelda Hersee
- 3. Mary Toof

Juneau Precinct No. 4

- 1. Irene Clough
- 2. Delores Doogan
- 3. Sandra Nusbaum

Juneau Precinct No. 5

- Joanna Jean Talkington
 Gudrun Olson
- 3. LaVerne Bruce

Juneau Precinct No. 6

- Margaret Fritsch
 Elizabeth Green
- 3. Judith Nance

Juneau Precinct No. 7 1. Nancy Shanley

- 2. Geraldine Whiting
- 3. June Pilcher

Juneau Precinct No. 9

- Carolyn Burg
 Helen McLaughlin
- 3. Marie Kent

Juneau Airport Precinct

- 1. Jacqueline Richardson
- 2. Florence Anderegg
- 3. Genevieve Andrews

Lemon Creek Precinct

- 1. Kathy Larsen
- 2. Janet League
- 3. Wilma Jenkins

Lower Mendenhall Precinct No. 1

- 1. Merle Bottge
- 2. Anita Barnes
- 3. H. Jane Burgess

Lower Mendenhall Precinct No. 2

- 1. Nancy Lange
- 2. Gwen Stetson
- 3. Joan Gasparek

Lynn Canal Precinct

- 1. Barbara Rice
- 2. Gene Forrest
- 3. Elizabeth Kelly

North Douglas Precinct

- 1. Marion Rider
- 2. Margaret Akin
- 3. Marcella Stutte

Salmon Creek Precinct

1. Lenore Honsinger

- 2. Alleyne (Pat) Phillips
- 3. Gloria Ahrensfeld

Sheep Creek Precinct

- 1. Clara Sper1
- 2. Augusta Byington
- 3. Margo Lewis

Switzer Creek Precinct

- 1. Emily Cherry
- 2. Merle Fisher
- 3. Mary Lou King

Upper Mendenhall Precinct No. 1

- 1. Joanne Miller
- 2. Jody Price
- 3. Marlene Swanston

Upper Mendenhall Precinct No. 2

- 1. Carole Winton
- 2. Bernice Williams
- 3. Eileen Kotyk
- 4. Should any of the persons listed be unable or unwilling to serve for any reason, the city and borough election official is hereby authorized to appoint other persons to fill the vacancies.
- 5. The city and borough election official is hereby authorized to appoint such persons as, in his opinion, are legally qualified and willing to serve to fill each of the positions listed above to which no appointment is made by this resolution.

Adopted this $2\ell^{\frac{m}{2}}$ day of $2\ell^{\frac{m}{2}}$, 1980.

Attest .

1.