Presented by: The Manager

Introduced: Referred to:

RESOLUTION OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA

Serial No. 576

A RESOLUTION DESIGNATING THE TIME AND PLACE FOR COUNTING ACCEPTED CHALLENGED BALLOTS AND ABSENTEE BALLOTS CAST IN THE SPECIAL ELECTION TO BE HELD ON MARCH 20, 1979 AND APPOINTING JUDGES IN THE CITY AND BOROUGH PRECINCTS FOR SAID ELECTION.

WHEREAS, CBJ 29.05.200 provides that accepted challenged ballots and absentee ballots shall be counted by the city and borough election official and two or more assistants appointed by him, and

WHEREAS, said section further provides that such counting shall be done prior to the convening of the canvass board at a time and place designated by the assembly by resolution and shall be accomplished in public in full view of any persons assembled, and

WHEREAS, a special election is to be held on March 20, 1979, and

WHEREAS, judges for precincts must be appointed;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA:

- 1. That the accepted challenged ballots and the absentee ballots cast, but not previously counted, in the special election to be held on March 20, 1979 shall be counted as provided by ordinance by the city and borough election official at the assembly chambers in the Municipal Building, 155 South Seward Street, commencing at 1:00 p.m. on March 27, 1979.
- 2. That absentee ballots received in such election prior to the close of the polls shall be counted as provided by ordinance by the city and borough election official at the assembly chambers in the Municipal Building, 155 South Seward Street, commencing at the time the polls close.
- 3. That the following listed persons are appointed judges in the precincts as listed to constitute the election board in each of such precincts:

AUKE BAY PRECINCT

- 1. Kathryn Hagmeier
- 2. Jane DeHart
- 3. Rosemary Quast

DOUGLAS #1

- 1. Margaret Bodine
- 2. Nell Savikko
- 3. Bonnie Zeman

DOUGLAS #2

- 1. Shirley Carlson
- Margaret Murray 2.
- Sheila Peterson

JUNEAU #1

- 1. Lauraine Gerhard
- 2. Katherine Nelson
- 3. Evelyn Striegel

JUNEAU #2

- 1. Jeanette Mikesell
- 2. Dorothy Sturrock
- 3. Rita Thomas

- JUNEAU #3

 1. Dorothy Allen
 - 2. Millie Brandt
 - 3.

JUNEAU #4

- 1. Irene Clough 2. Nancy Dethridge
- 3. Delores Doogan

JUNEAU #5

- 1. J. Jean Talkington
- 2. Lola Walther
- 3. Dorothy Thornton

JUNEAU #6

- 1. Margaret Fritsch 2. Elizabeth Green
- 3. Mary A. Long

JUNEAU #7

- 1. Nancy Shanley
- 2. Katherine Shaw
- 3. Cherie Andrew

JUNEAU #9

- 1. Carolyn Burg 2. Alberta Hermle
- 3. Marie K. Kent

JUNEAU AIRPORT

- 1. Jackie Richardson
- 2. Florence Anderegg
- 3. Kathleen Brannon

LEMON CREEK

- 1. Ann Trent Castro
- 2. Wilma Jenkins
- 3.

LOWER MENDENHALL #1

- 1. Merle Bottge
- Janet Adams
- 3.

LOWER MENDENHALL #2

- 1. Ida J. Reddekopp
- 2. June Johnson
- 3. Joan Gasparek

LYNN CANAL

- 1. Mary E. Johnson
- 2. Gene Forrest

NORTH DOUGLAS

- 1. Marian Rider
- 2. Margaret Akin
- 3.

SALMON CREEK

- 1. Patricia Beadle
- 2. Ruth Rew
- 3.

SHEEP CREEK

- 1. Clara Sperl
- 2. Augusta Byington 3. Margo Lewis

SWITZER

- 1. Emily Cherry
- 2. Mary L. King
- 3.

UPPER MENDENHALL #1

- 1. Joanne Miller
- 2. Jody Price
- 3. Betty Wyatt

UPPER MENDENHALL #2

- 1. Mary Westfall
- 2. Julianne Frick
- 3. Dalpha Reid
- 4. Should any of the persons listed be unable or unwilling to serve for any reason, the city and borough election official is hereby authorized to appoint other persons to fill the vacancies.

5. The city and borough election official is hereby authorized to appoint such persons as, in his opinion, are legally qualified and willing to serve to fill each of the positions listed above to which no appointment is made by this resolution.

Adopted this 15th day of March

1979.

Mayor

Attest:

- 4 -