Presented by: Mayor Overstreet

12-16-76

Introduced: Referred to:

Committee of the Whol

RESOLUTION OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA

Serial No. 423 (Sponsor Substitute)

A RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE TRACY ARM/ENDICOTT ARM AREA BE DESIGNATED A NATIONAL RECREATION AREA.

WHEREAS, Tracy Arm/Endicott Arm area in Southeast Alaska is unusally rich in natural, scenic beauty, and

WHEREAS, by virtue of its proximity to The City and Borough of Juneau, Tracy Arm and Endicott Arm are readily accessible to the citizens of Alaska and to citizens and visitors from other states and countries, and

WHEREAS, said area should be preserved for the present and future generations, and

WHEREAS, every effort should be made to encourage citizens and visitors to view and experience the beauty of the natural wonders of the area, and

WHEREAS, a proposal exists to classify Tracy Arm/Endicott Arm as a wilderness area, and

WHEREAS, designation as a wilderness area for the upper reaches of Tracy Arm and Endicott Arm east of the batholith and a National Recreation Area for the balance of this area would accomplish the dual goals of preserving the natural environment and beauty of the area and maximizing the opportunities for citizens and visitors to see and appreciate this magnificent area:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA:

- That the total Tracy Arm/Endicott Arm area should not be designated a wilderness area.
- That the appropriate governmental agencies are strongly urged to take all steps necessary to establish the upper reaches of Tracy Arm/Endicott Arm as a wilderness core area in conjunction with a National Recreation Area where hunting, fishing and access rights are continued.
- That the appropriate governmental agency be urged to appropriate special funds for facility development, including overnight accommodations, as well as support developments required by boaters.

Resolution 423

4. That copies of this resolution be sent to the members of the Alaska congressional delegation, the Secretaries of Agriculture and Interior, the United States Forest Service, the United States Park Service, the Governor of the State of Alaska, and the Commissioner of Natural Resources of the State of Alaska.

Adopted this

day of

1977.

Attest: